Duane’s Fiction

September 21, 2008

1963 – A ‘Terminator: The Sarah Connor Chronicles’ Story

Filed under: Uncategorized — Tags: , , , , , , , — duaneaakre @ 12:42 am

1963

1963

Terminator: The Sarah Connor Chronicles is a new favorite of mine.  After only a couple of episodes, I had a strong urge to tell a new story, exploring things a little differently than they are doing in the show. And what intrigues me the most is Cameron’s evolution from robot girl to something more. Now, if you have read some of my other stories, you will know I have an affinity for time travel stories. Although unlike most of my others which primarily stick to one place in time, the first arc of this saga jumps around a lot with each chapter taking place in a different time period or alternate time line (Sort of how the old show ‘Sliders’ did each episode).

The first arc, consisting of four chapters, are available here.

What was going to be the fifth chapter, exploring the next time line, kept growing in size and scope until it needed to be its own story rather than just a single chapter. The idea came to me when I started watching the new ‘90210’ TV show and it reminded me of how Brian Austin Green had appeared in that show’s earlier incarnation, I decided a cross-over chapter with 90210 might be fun. In the end it grew to five chapters and I think it turned out well. A lot of the people who have sent me comments said they thought Terminator+90210 was a pretty bizarre mash-up, but that, surprisingly, it worked.

This second arc of my Terminator story is available here.

So now I have started thinking about what to do next. I sort of like the longer form of the previous arc, where the story stays in one time line for multiple chapters. And I thought the obscure, unexpected cross-over was fun and I would like to try it again. So, I am thinking of doing another cross-over only even more obscure.

At the moment I am thinking the next story will be a variation of them battling Skynet on the moon in the late 1970’s I had mentioned in the last chapter of the first story. And for a long-time sci-fi fan like me, the obvious cross-over for this time frame is the 1970 British TV show ‘UFO’.

The show was set in the distant future year of 1980 and involved a secret organization (with its headquarters buried below a British movie studio) battling alien invaders. Now if you aren’t old enough to remember 1970, when this show was created, you may not understand how things on this show like the existence of many large moon-based operations by multiple countries and corporations felt entirely possible a mere ten years in the future. But in 1970 it had been less than ten years since the first person had gone into space and they had already landed a man on the moon. I think if you asked people in 1970 which was more likely: the space travel of this show in ten years or mankind not sending anyone back to the moon for more than 50 years, they would have all voted that events in the show were more likely. What has happened with space travel in the last few decades seems to be almost ‘stranger than fiction’.

Anyway, as I said, this show was done in 1970 and tried to extrapolate things to 1980. And not only did they try to extrapolate technology, but also everything else. It feels so anachronistic, at least to a modern American, to see all the characters sitting around their offices smoking cigars and drinking hard liquor. And then there are the fashions. 1970 England was still in the whole ‘mod’ scene and this show is a lot like Austin Powers on steroids – the men all wear turtlenecks and Nehru jackets and the women are all in short, short skirts. But my favorite bit was always the women who manned the secret organization’s moon operations. They dressed in these shiny metallic jumpsuits and all wore matching purple wigs. I think it would be a lot of fun to see Sarah, Cameron, Naomi, and Lisa forced to wear the purple wigs and skin-tight spacesuits to blend in!

I still have to figure out the ‘hook’ to tie these two stories together into a seamless whole, but it simply feels like it will be a lot of fun if I can make it work.

Just to help you picture what I am talking about, here are a couple of photos. You can find lots more info, if you google ‘ufo tv series’.

The first two chapters of the third arc of my Terminator story are available here.

Can you picture Cameron, Sarah, Lisa & Naomi in these moonbase outfits?

Can you picture Cameron, Sarah, Lisa & Naomi in these moonbase outfits?


The moonbase from the show

The moonbase from the show


The DVD available from Netflix or Amazon

The DVD available from Netflix or Amazon


If you would like to discuss my overall terminator saga, or more specifically the upcoming story arc with ‘UFO’, please leave a comment.


Cameron
Are you a Cameron Fan?
Leave a Comment »

No comments yet.

RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

Leave a Reply

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.

