Duane’s Fiction

August 4, 2008

The Portal — My first fanfic

Artwork by jedwar.tevas, July 20, 2010

This story was the first piece of fiction I ever wrote.  You can read it here.

It is a Smallville story set near the end of season 1.  This story involves Clark, Chloe, Lex, and Lana being stranded in ancient Rome by a time machine.  There is a big plot twist involving Chloe which occurs in chapter 5 and exploring the consequences of this plot twist is the whole reason I wrote the story.  Let’s just say it involves some far-out nanotechnology.

Let’s see, what else?  Oh – Romantic pairings – First up Clark & Chloe.  Chloe has always been my favorite and even though they were half way through the second season when I started writing the story, I set it right before the season 1 finale because that was when Clark and Chloe were briefly a couple.  When I started the story, that was the only pairing I had planned, but then in the middle of the story a story line involving Lex and Lana just seemed to blossom of its own accord.

I finished this story before I started my first ‘works in progress’ page, so I never created a ‘book cover’ piece of artwork to go with it.  Plus with my meager photoshop skills, getting Clark, Chloe, Lex and Lana appropriately attire in Roman togas was beyond me. Therefore I want to give a big THANKS to jedwar.tevas for creating this piece of artwork for me. If anyone else feels inspired to do a piece of fan art for one of my stories, I will gladly add it to this page. Duane

Artwork by jedwar.tevas, June 16, 2010

Updated 2/3/2013 – New Cover Art for the fanfiction.net website.  Created using the Pulp-O-Mizer:

The Portal - Cover 02 - Pulp

Leave a Comment »

No comments yet.

RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.

